We Can

Have you ever heard about the legless man who climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro? Or the story about the profile picture which changed a freshman’s life? Or maybe the story of the badly bullied blind girl? I have. Since Wednesday.

On Wednesday, it was We Day for Kitchener in the Waterloo district. What is We Day? We Day is a day that inspires to help people in poverty and those in Africa. It inspires us to make a change in the world. We Day is sponsored by RIM and the Free the Children organization. Well anyways, my class went to see the We Day assembly and it was AWESOME! It’s going to be on CTV on November 24th and you will not be disappointed when you see it. If you see it. Anyways, there were tons of performers and speakers and entertainers as well. There was: Shawn Desman, (oh yeah), Martin Sheen, Spencer West, (which I’ll talk about later), and Molly Burke (also of which I’ll talk about later), some explorer dude etc. etc.

The host of We Day was a guy named T-Rex. I don’t know if he actually told us his real name. He was awesome and I hope I see him again next year.

Then there’s Shawn Desman. He was performing his hit “Nobody Does It Like Yooooooooooooooooo-ooooooooooooo-oooooooooou”. He was quite entertaining. The only time I actually listened to one of his songs one Much More Music. What song was it? “Nobody Does It Like Yooooooooooooooooo-ooooooooooooo-oooooooooou”. I actually saw him be interview by CTV and I was watching that happen because it was happening to the right of my seat in plain sight. During the performance I got this book called “Living Me to We” along with a bag of ballot stuff and a water necklace (also gonna talk about later). I was hoping he could sign my book, but then him and CTV snuck into a sound-proof, see-through room and started taking pictures with each other and high fiving so it was a bust for me.

Martin Sheen. He was awesome. My mom wanted me to take a picture of him while he was performing, but the lighting on my iPod was TERRIBLE. You couldn’t see a thing on the stage. So I did the next best thing. I audio-recorded his speech on my iPod. It was a smart idea and I sent it to my brother’s iPad with the Message app. Well, turn out it was not delivered and my Ipod’s dead right now. Lose-lose. Martin Sheen is the father of Charlie Sheen and he was reciting lines from “If the World Were a Village”. Some people in my class didn’t like him, but he WAS cool.

Then here comes legless man Specer West. He is a living miracle, literally. Spencer West had a disease when he was younger and they cut his legs all the way up to his knees. They were planning on putting him in prosthetics but that wasn’t the case. He lost everything from his pelvis down. He moves with his arms and it’s just amazing seeing him. Think living like that’s hard. Try climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro with no legs. Do you think he would’ve made it to the top?  Well he DID made it to the apex, the zenith, the summit, the apogee, and THAT is amazing.

The last that I’m gonna talk about is Molly Burke. She is 18 and when she was 14, she went blind. She couldn’t see a thing. That very same year was the year she got crutches as well. One day, that year, the popular girls asked to walk with her. She said “yes”. She found out she was walking into a forest, the girls pushed her and broke her crutches. And that was a really sad story for me.

The last thing I want to talk about is the water droplet necklaces. They were in out gift bags like I said earlier and whenever someone performed, it would light up and it was a spectacular sight and it was unbelievable.

Okay, so it IS Saturday so the winner of the doodle challenge is: no one. No one submitted so be sure to submit next week:

Thanks for reading, remember to help charities whenever you can, and please behold my drawesomeness!

UPDATE:

Don’t forget to watch this as well. It’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

